New Years Eve in Texas

It’s that time.  The last day of the year!  In suburbia it’s a cool 50 degrees and over cast. We usually stay in for New Year’s.  My neighbors usually have the most elaborate party.  We haven’t been in several years…it is quite spectacular!  A lot of people drink heavily here.  I went to the store to pick up something nice for New Years and holy cow!  The line was long!  Lot’s of drinkers here.  Which is not so good for the people that have issues with it.  And I am intimately familiar with it.  I do enjoy a glass or two and am thankful that is all I really want.

It is really popular to shoot fireworks here. The show is really quite spectacular.  You don’t really need to go anywhere to see it.  So why bother?  I really don’t want to be on the road with all of the crazy drinkers anyway.  And I really like my house.  So it’s a cozy nice place to be and I am perfectly content to be here.

fireworks

I put on a pot of chili and we usually watch the ball drop in New York (this has been a tradition of mine since I lived in Florida).  I will probably watch a movie tonight with the fireplace on.  The boys are watching football. There are many Texan traditions that I don’t subscribe to.  One is black-eyed peas and cabbage.  I don’t get it.  Maybe a true Texan will show me.  They always put these items in a prominent display in the grocery store.  I don’t eat black-eyed peas … ever.  And I like cabbage…just not making it tonight.

I have made a lot of progress in the past few years.  So I have some New Year’s resolutions.  I’ve overcome some tremendous issues and have really grown from experience.  I welcome the new year with it’s challenges.  I know that you just don’t skate by in life.  There will be good and there will be bad.  And usually the bad is some kind of lesson that if you really pay attention will benefit you. I will stay close to God for that direction.  And that is my new year commitment.   That and a continuation of what I have learned being a better parent by recognizing what is my responsibility and what is my children’s.  I will own what I own nothing more.  That takes work!  I will continue a regiment of fitness and eating well.  And I will strive to do the best I can with work, realizing this might be my last year with this job that has been such a blessing for me to be able to stay home with the kids.

New Years Eve in Texas

Leave a Reply

