Under the starry skies of Texas

What could be better than a beautiful evening outdoors featuring friends and great music? The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion which is in the Woodlands Texas is a place for just that!  When I saw that one of my favorite 80s groups was coming to town almost six months ago I thought, yes!  I’m going to that!  I was never allowed to go to concerts because of perceived drugs or alcohol that surrounded bands like Pink Floyd.  But 80s bands were different.  I just have to mention this because now is so different from then. Now a days teens listen to music that glorifies drugs.  At the concert they played “White Lines” referring to cocaine, the message in the song is not to glorify but describe the reality of it.  I didn’t think much about the 80s area growing up, however, looking back it was awesome!  There was a sweetness to it at least for me.

So not being a concert goer extraordinaire, I will say that an outdoor concert is now my favorite!   It took a long time for be to be allowed to go see the band I wanted to!   I selected lawns seats which wouldn’t give you a close up view, but figured who cares?  It’s so laid back and knowing almost everyone of their songs you are free to sing and dance with a little more freedom!  And the other concert goers were very nice and seemed to just enjoy!

concert1

Some concerts have a lot of theatrics, this one was all about the music which is great when you know almost every word.  You are in the zone just singing and listening to songs that you may have heard thousands of times!  Tributes were paid to David Bowie and Prince who recently passed.  The Prince tribute was nice, they turned the lights purple and played their song, “Save a Prayer”.  Another big difference between now and then is that people would holdup lighters for songs they enjoyed, now a days it’s the flash light on your cell phone !

concert2

I also got my first concert t-shirt 🙂

Duran Duran released a new album last year called Paper Gods.  I don’t know any of the songs, however clued into the fact that the songs seem cynical…ugh!  What I liked most about Duran Duran’s 80s songs are their positive lyrics.  One of my favorites…”Ordinary World”…

But I won’t cry for yesterday
There’s an ordinary world
Somehow I have to find
And as I try to make my way
To the ordinary world
I will learn to survive

I don’t like to admit it, music is very impactful.  Is it that I grew up with these words that influenced my life today and the way that I think?  Or is it that I was going there anyway and these words validated that?

One last thing, Cynthia Woods is next to an outdoor shopping area that is filled with really nice restaurants and shops.   You can eat outside in a little cozy cafe town environment.  This is a really nice alternative to the old mall setting.  We had a great dinner before the concert and walked over afterwards.  Super nice!!!

Under the starry skies of Texas

Leave a Reply

