Texas Mommas

Are Texas momma’s any different than others?  Hmmmm I don’t know about that.  I will say that you may see some differences of culture even in the USA from state to state.  What can I say about Texas mommas??  Well, they are feisty.  Seriously, what momma is not feisty?  I am lucky to know many Texas momma’s.  If you have ever watched the TV show Big Bang Theory and know the character Sheldon’s mom, they are spot on.  There are a lot of Christian mom’s here.  Of course, there is a huge diversity of culture and religion in Houston and Texas for that matter.

Being a mom is rewarding and challenging.  My children have taught me much about life and I am thankful for the lesson.  I remember praying not to get pregnant (waiting for the right time) then to get pregnant (when I felt the time was right) and then to have healthy children.  I promised that I will do my very best to be the best mom I can be.  I delivered!  Was I the best at it?  Heck no!!!  Did I make mistakes?  Heck yes!!!!  One thing  you can’t fault is your love for your children.  Even if they are going through a hard time or behave badly.  Unconditional love is something that God gives you.  I embrace this concept as a parent.  You have to let go of control and expectations.  Your children are God’s and he has a plan for them. The hardships they go through is not something for you to fix and it is so hard to learn that.  I just pray that I will continue to have a spot in their life and a relationship.

My oldest daughter taught me much about this idea.  So even if your children go through a tough situation that seems to be dire, there may be a lesson learned out of it.  That was the case for me. And as horrible as it may be when  you are going through it, if you focus on what you can control, your reaction and seek your goal (for me communication or a relationship) you will  find a way to make that work.  That becomes the goal.

You can let insignificant things bother you, like your child going to get a tattoo.  Oh my goodness, I was so against this.  And then someone made an impression on me that made me rethink this.  I am so grateful to let this go.  Whatever my children do, whether or not it is something I would do doesn’t matter.  What matters is my love for them.  I learned that the hardest way.

So on this Mother’s Day, I will say that if you are a mother, you were blessed with a child! You will always be someone’s child.  Everyone is in a different place in their lives for whatever reason.  Some people are lucky to have their moms. Some people’s  mom’s are gone. Some people don’t have relationships with their mom for whatever reason. If you are lucky enough to be blessed with a child, I hope that experience will bring you joy in life as much as it has mine!   There are two people in a relationship, and although you can’t control what that relationship will be, I hope that you can find a way to make the connection work.

mothersday

 

 

Texas Mommas

Leave a Reply

