Run for fun…how to

So here are a few words about running.  Why do it?  What is the point?  Why would anyone run?

I was actually shocked when my daughter said she was interested in extra credit for one of her classes.  She just needed to sign up for a 5K and participate in it.  Wow!  This is my daughter?  She HATES running and exercise for that matter. Yet it’s interesting she does feel good after a bike ride…hmmmm.  Anyway, happy to hear this, we signed up.   I thought for sure we would walk the whole way and I was prepared for that.  However, she decided to try and run.  In case you don’t run and would like to, here are a few tricks.  The hardest part about running is actually when you go from a low heart rate to an elevated one.  That feeling is uncomfortable.  Once you get your heart rate up, you start thinking, maybe I should stop, I don’t want to continue feeling this way or maybe it will get worse and I can’t breathe.   It is true that with training eventually you can breathe easier.  And even a runner that has been doing it for a long time can still feel uncomfortable when starting out.   For me, I think it’s easier to start slow and work up to a faster pace.  My daughter was saying speed up!  I do, after a warm up period.  To me it’s that way to gradually bring up the heart rate so that the uncomfortable feeling is lessened.   We picked distances to run to, like that light pole, or to the bridge.  As far as you can go before you need to rest.  Since I do run, I listened to her and tried to balance the rest with enough encouragement to keep her trying.  I think we did pretty well.

Running can be very scenic.  Downtown Houston is a very nice city.  It’s clean and on an early Sunday morning, very quite.  The towering buildings in all shapes and sizes are really interesting to look at.  People are friendly.  There are parks mixed in, trees, birds, and flowers that enhance the surroundings.  This time of year, late September, it’s still very hot and humid.  During this time of year my favorite time to run is at night, just because it’s cooler.  It’s also a good way to get off the couch instead of binge watch TV  programs that you don’t care about or watch depressing news.

While running, most of the time I don’t listen to music.  Sometimes listening to the same tunes gets old.  I like to be in my thoughts and think about all kinds of things.  Things I need to do, things I have done, problem solve.  Sometimes, I like to think about just my current surroundings and try to connect with the senses, what I see, hear, smell and feel.  (I certainly don’t like to taste, because it’s probably going to be a bug!).  Running is a way to calm down mentally.  It’s a proven fact that it is good for your mental wellness.  There are so many benefits…relieves depression, as well as improves your body’s functioning systems.

It did help that when I got back into running I needed to loose some weight so that I could move what I’m carrying on my body.  Running itself is not a huge calorie burner. Especially if you are not running very long distances.  For example about 3 miles for me burns about 250 calories.  So, it’s not really a weight loss idea, it’s the other benefits that I like about it.  I’m also not doing it to improve speed, my best is about 9MPH.  But average is more like 10MPH.  I hope to be as fortunate as some others to be running at a very late age.

I will say something about shoes!  It’s really the only think that I think is truly necessary when you run…to have a good pair of shoes. It’s worth the investment so that you can keep running.  I think Asics are the best!  They are super light on your feet.  Mine are cushioned which I think helps with your joints.  I tried Nike before and they rubbed my toenail to the point it separated too much and I got a fungus that took 2 years to get rid of. Not all Asics are the same either .  My favorite is the Kinsei 5s ❤

shoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Run for fun…how to

Leave a Reply

