New Endeavor

Fall is here!  When the temperature dips into the 60s with highs in the 80s it’s here!  If only for a day!  The milder weather is a welcomed change.  People are starting to break out the pumpkin decor.  Summer is coming to an end and football is in high gear.

With the weather as gorgeous as it is, I couldn’t wait to get outdoors.  Today was a perfect day for a bike ride.  At 8AM people are already jogging and walking around the big 2 mile path around the park lake.   You really can’t keep at a high speeds because people take up the entire width of the path.  There are lots of walkers, joggers, kids, dogs and people fishing.

img_1600

Finally it’s October and registration is open for the MS150. This is my new endeavor!  It was so much fun training for a triathlon over the summer.  I’ve now signed up for the MS150, the ride is April 29&30 2017.  This is my new endeavor.  I can’t believe it has taken me so long to do this.  I really don’t know why I didn’t do it before.  One of the biggest hurdles is the fundraising commitment. You have to raise or pay $400.  That is pretty steep.  Not sure sure if this is what held me back before, but I’m willing to try to raise the funds.  They want to raise 16 million dollars for this event.  It’s easier now to spread the word with social media and the internet.  I can’t wait to see how this works out, it’s another way to push my limits.  It is a great cause.  Multiple Sclerosis is when your immune system fights your central nervous system.  The disease is relatively rare, the internet says 200,000 US cases per year.  The disease results in nerve damage. Symptoms and severity varies from person to person. Victims experience vision loss, pain, fatigue and may loose the ability to walk.  I think there is a lot of work that can be done in this area on repairing nerves.  And in this case finding out what causes the immune system to attack the nerves in the first place.

I have a road bike.  The two day ride starts in one of three places, I’m planning on starting in Waller (the shortest path!).  You stay overnight in LaGrange.  I’ve heard you can get a hotel, and am pretty sure they will all be booked.  Hmmm, camping overnight in late April. Lows will most likely be in the mid 60s and highs in the mid 80s.  Apparently they transport your gear/luggage (tent).   And once you get to Austin, you can get a ride back (with your bike).  So, I can do this by myself.  I do want to look into joining a cycle club.  I would meet new people and go with a group if I do.   This is totally doable!   Me and 13,000 of my closest cycling friends.

There are lots of logistical things to plan out.   I look forward to it!   Bike to Austin…heck yeah!  I AM IN!

http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR/Challenge/General?px=15548823&pg=personal&fr_id=28263#.V_GiGfCiffQ.facebook

 

 

 

 

New Endeavor

Leave a Reply

