Orange Theory

A fellow fitness enthusiast friend of mine told me that Orange Theory (which is a workout place) is offering a free trial class and suggested we try it together.  Inspired by my blog, I thought, why not try it and write about it?   I do plenty of fitness (sometimes every day of the week), but sometimes you have to change things up a little.  There will be less tennis during the holidays, so maybe a little new fitness routine may be in order.

orange-theory

The Orange Theory studio is definitely new and kind of small.  The lighting in the studio is lit with big brilliant orange lights.  The class can have 20 people (maybe a little more) and depending on the popularity of the class they can have multiple groups.  The first thing you do is put on a heart monitor.  They call their class types endurance, strength, power or a combination.   We spent about 20 minutes on a tread mill, and the rest split between a rowing machine and some floor exercises that incorporated some Pilates like movements and equipment like the TRX.   The treadmill exercise was at heart rate intervals.  So the theory, as they say, is to keep your heart rate in the orange zone when you “push it”(for me that was about 150 beats per minute) for about 20 minutes of the class.  That way you will keep burning calories for up to 36 hours (that would be the after burn effect, or a speed up in metabolism).  They split the treadmill work into three groups: “base pace”,  “push it” and “all out”.  And that was split into three more categories based on if you are a power walker, jogger or runner.  There are monitors with your name on it so that you can see your heart rate and the percentage of time you are in the target zone.  This is also important because your goal is to stay in that zone 84% of the time.  And then there is something called a splat point which is earned by remaining in the target zone for a minute.

I’m not a big fan of the treadmill, but I do like the interval training that this offers.  The rowing was more momentum oriented which for me, a big Pilates advocate, is abnormal. The floor work was the same, too fast.  Just because you do more reps at a fast pace doesn’t get you results if you think of working out in Pilates terms.  Slow and controlled is the Pilates way.  I had some questions too, the instructor demo’d the exercise once and was almost too busy to spend additional time explaining.  I guess I am really spoiled by the attention I get at the Pilates studio.  My Pilates instructor is really careful with the 8 in her class watching to make sure your position is correct so that you don’t get hurt.   I don’t feel like this level of attention is given because the instructor has so many to look after.   That is a big red flag, especially as you get older.  I need to be careful working out.  Fitness is something that can turn into injury that will prohibit me from playing tennis.  And I’m not about to let that happen.  I like the slow and controlled strength training you get out of Pilates and the balance work.

Overall the best thing about the class for me was the interval training for your heart.  And for me that is important with tennis.  So many times you go all out in tennis, then have to recover.   The rest, was concerning for me because of the possibility of injury.  I don’t know how places like this make it with easy injury risk.  I think my friend and I were the oldest in the class, but we “killed it”…for first timers.

studio

The cost was not bad.  It’s $59 for once a week for a month.  And $99 for two or three times, and $159 for as many times as you like.  No contract.  And you can just show up for $28. I burned 400 calories. Whoo hoo!

finisher

 

Orange Theory

Leave a Reply

