Tis the season to gift (ideas)

There is nothing like the stress of Christmas shopping.  With 1 week away the pressure is officially on.  Yesterday I woke up at 5am feeling inspired.  I finally did a bunch of Christmas shopping online.  I’m still struggling to come up with unique thoughtful gifts.  I do love to give, it’s hard to come up with new ideas for people that you have probably given to for years.

I’m on a kitchen theme this year.  There are just some things you need to replace.  So a gift of cutting boards, knives, measuring cups, etc.  (Meat thermometer that you cook with in the meat).  That’s the theme I’m going with.  In my Texas adventures this year I did really like the fact that you can get Texas olive oil.  So I found the olive orchard we visited in Wimberly Texas online and ordered a bottle for my friend.  It was pricey for olive oil.  The gift does have that unique factor I was going for.

For my dad I was really going for some good cookie sheets and remembered I love Pampered Chef cooking sheets.  So this can be a good thing or bad, I always read the reviews now (and participate in giving reviews as well).  For the pricey Pampered Chef pans a good percent of the reviews said they warp.  WHAT?? NO!  So then back to Google and a search for good pans, I found some on Amazon with good ratings.  I really hope they work out, cause that is what I went with.  What would we ever do without consumer reviews and online shopping?  This seriously is the best thing since sliced bread.

We do a white elephant at Christmas with my husband’s side of the family.  There are at least 10 adults plus.  We each bring a $50 wrapped gift and place them on the table.  Then all of us draw a number and the person with the number one picks a gift first.  The gift can be stolen a maximum of 2 times.  This is a nice idea for a large family when you don’t have the funds to buy for everyone. And challenging because what the heck do you get?  Believe me I have executed Google searches on this for years!  If I go with the kitchen theme, I may make some happy, but what about the people who don’t cook?  I mean last time I got a Victoria Secrets gift card, what if my father-in-law picked that?  LOL!

Next, when the boss invites you over for a Christmas party and likes wine what do you bring?  I mean, I’m good with any table wine.  I do appreciate a really good wine, and the wine served at his party was really spectacular.  My husband thought I should ask the Specs liquor store people for a good wine.  I wasn’t really sure about that.  When my husband hosted his party we did it at a really nice wine restaurant (they serve food, wine is the main attraction).  The wine we had was really good and they selected it.  So, we found that wine at Specs and at least have an idea that it was good.

What do you get a teenage boy?  Google and Pinterest are saving me again.  They have some really great ideas for giving gift cards and the presentation of them.

Last but not least.  We had two parties that required a gift for $10-$20.  One of the parties was a gift card exchange.  I tried to find a creative way to give more than $10 and found just that on Groupon.  I purchased movie tickets at a local theater that serves food for $5 a ticket (worth $10 per ticket).  I put two tickets in a popcorn box that I got at a party store and stuffed it with theater style candy (hot tamales and M&Ms) and a bag of microwave popcorn.  This we used for my husband’s office gift exchange as well.

Gifting can be fun and stressful.  I’m up early again to try and finish shopping.  Tis the season!

gift

 

 

 

Tis the season to gift (ideas)

Leave a Reply

