Happy Easter from Texas

Happy Easter!  I woke up this morning to my husband asking me for cornbread.  It was 5:45 AM.  “Your asking me if we are having cornbread today?…this early?”  I really don’t think he was just craving Easter dinner, this is probably the continued effects from being in China.  It takes a while to adjust!

My mother told my children that I would be putting together an Easter basket for them. She LOVED to do this.  And I did for years, maybe you are never too old to receive an Easter basket, however my plan was to make a coconut cake.  Added to this plan is now cornbread and ham.  An impromptu Easter dinner.  Little did I know this dinner was going to take six hours to make.  Ham just needs to be heated, how hard could this be? I’ve always wondered why ham is served for Easter dinner.  Not that I believe everything you read on the internet.  If it makes a little sense, I just go with it.  So, a search said that ham is a traditional dinner in the US supposedly because meat was slaughtered in the fall, before refrigeration pork was cured for spring.  It seems as though Europe and even in Israel, lamb would be more of a traditional food.  Maybe there wasn’t lamb available in the US.  It isn’t really popular in the stores from what I can see.

Here we have traditions, and my husband really likes his family traditional food.  Ham, cornbread, great northern beans and potatoes.

What took the most time was the scalloped potatoes that I prepared in the slow cooker on the “high” setting and the great northern beans (white beans).   The cake took a while too.  I think it’s hard to time things so that they come together at the right time.  My grandmother was excellent at this with her tiny kitchen.

The family starved the entire day waiting for dinner.  Everything was going just fine until I started mixing the frosting for the cake.  I have made it once before and it was great.  This time the mascarpone cheese curdled when I added whipping cream.  The last time I made this the frosting was to die for.  I couldn’t believe it wasn’t smooth and fluffy. Again the internet is pretty helpful!  I found out why it happened and a way to save it. It’s important to have the whipping cream and the cheese at the same temperature.  I had to drain out the whipping cream and slowly heat the two to about room temperature, then reconstitute…It worked!

The ham was good too! It was a boneless half ham because we wouldn’t eat a full one.  It didn’t come sliced like the spiral cuts we have had in the past.  I made this glaze out of honey, brown sugar, rice vinegar, worcestershire, and dijon mustard.  The glaze really dressed it up! Cooking the potatoes in the slow cooker helped by freeing up the oven.  I used gruyere cheese, parmesan, cream and some spices.  I think they needed some cheddar.

The meal isn’t colorful enough for me.  I didn’t have it in me to make any more things to add color though.  We have a saying here in Texas…”Don’t mess with Texas”.  The same goes true with my husband’s traditions…don’t mess with them.

cake2.jpg

easter dinner

Happy Easter from Texas

Leave a Reply

