3 yards

It’s not a football thing.  Even though this weekend is all about football. It’s a mulch thing. Three yards cost $120 delivered.  And it took 20 hours of work to dispurse it.  That is exactly what I did over labor day weekend.  Again, with the prep for putting the house on the market, I tackled the biggest job.  The outside.  The stager said that curb appeals gets people in.  I put this off because of the amount of time I knew it would take.

3 yards.jpg

The stager said our yard looked overgrown.  I’m guessing that a landscaper would charge about $500-$600 to remove some bushes, trim and mulch the yard.  I really wish I would have taken a before picture.   There were several bushes that were just crowded and webworm looks like it did some damage on Indian Hawthorn bushes.  It took 40 minutes per bush to take out mini bottle brush.  Indian Hawthorn were easier to remove.

plumbago gone.jpg

front

The dump truck came and dumped the mulch.  And I tried to protect the driveway from the stain.  FYI  that makes it harder to shovel the mulch into a wheelbarrel when you have it on something plastic like a tarp.  I started Friday after work with the trimming.  I took out plumbago which is a pretty blue flower that fills in like a weed.  I cut it to the ground, so sadly, it will try to grow back. For now it looks fantastic.  We just need to sell and get out of here.  I am really tired of throwing out stuff and keeping the place looking pristine and it’s not even on the market yet.

Also, Google is awesome!  The stager said I need to remove some rust stains from an iron door mat.  I found that muratic acid removed those stains and it did!  So I don’t have to buy a new mat.

front door.jpg

I’m happy to have saved the money and wonder what I could have done with 20 extra hours.  I did manage to go to a baseball game, play tennis, spend a little time with my daugher and go to a nice lunch with my husband.  I’m thinking at this point camping is a great option.  No upkeep!  Speaking of which I can’t wait for Big Bend!!!!!!!!!  I put in that lock by the way.  The last lock got to the point that you had to shoulder in to get the door open. It was pretty easy to change the door hardware and I’ve been pleased with the results. Just picked that bad boy up at Home Depot and replaced it.

3 yards

Leave a Reply

